HomeRoentgen Medal: Current Recipient: 

The 2017 Röntgen Medal Laureate

Professor Dr. Henry Chapman


The Roentgen Medal 2017 will be awarded to Professor Henry Chapman. The public ceremony will take place on April 8th, 2017, 11-13 hours in Minoritenhall of the Klosterkirche in Remscheid-Lennep.

Henry Chapman leads the Coherent X-Ray Imaging division at the Center for Free Electron Laser Science at DESY, and is a professor of physics at the University of Hamburg. His work exploits the tremendous new capabilities of X-ray free-electron lasers, which deliver X-ray pulses that are a billion times more intense than synchrotron radiation, to determine the structure and dynamics of complex materials including macromolecules. He led landmark experiments at FLASH (DESY) and the LCLS (SLAC) that demonstrated the possibility to “outrun” radiation damage with fast pulses and obtain atomic-resolution images from room temperature protein nanocrystals. His group develops algorithms, instrumentation, and methods for 3D imaging with FEL pulses and collaborates with leading structural biologists around the world.